ROCHESTER, Minn. (KTTC) — Rochester Police were at Café Steam Wednesday morning talking to the public about the Minnesota “Hands Free” law that goes into effect on Thursday.
Members of the community were welcomed to come talk to police at their table in the back of the café, to gain a little more insight into the law.
People were reminded that the law still applies even at stoplights.
One touch activation is allowed–except for teen drivers under the age of 18.
Minnesota joins 15 other states and District of Columbia, Guam, The U.S. Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico in adopting this law.
The penalty for first-time offenses is $50 plus court fees. The fine for the second offense is $275.